Simon & Garfunkel: Parsley, Sage, Rosemary & Thyme

SKU: 190758749617

Limited 180gm vinyl LP pressing including digital download. Parsley, Sage, Rosemary and Thyme is the third studio album by Simon & Garfunkel. Produced by Bob Johnston, the album was released on October 24, 1966 in the United States by Columbia Records. Following the success of their debut single "The Sound of Silence", Simon & Garfunkel regrouped after a time apart while Columbia issued their second album, Sounds of Silence. For their third album, the duo spent almost three months in the studio, for the first time extending a perfectionist nature both in terms of instrumentation and production. The album largely consists of acoustic pieces that were mostly written during Paul Simon's period in England the previous year, including some recycled numbers from his debut solo record, The Paul Simon Songbook. The album includes the Garfunkel-led piece "For Emily, Whenever I May Find Her", as well as "7 O'Clock News/Silent Night", a combination of news reports of the day (the Vietnam War, the civil rights movement, the death of comedian Lenny Bruce), and the Christmas carol "Silent Night".

  • Disc 1 -
  • 1 Scarborough Fair / Canticle 3:10
  • 2 Patterns 2:45
  • 3 Cloudy 2:21
  • 4 Homeward Bound 2:28
  • 5 The Big Bright Green Pleasure Machine 2:47
  • 6 The 59th Street Bridge Song (Feelin' Groovy) 1:53
  • - Disc 2 -
  • 1 The Dangling Conversation 2:37
  • 2 Flowers Never Bend with the Rainfall 2:10
  • 3 A Simple Desultory Philippic (Or How I Was Robert McNamara'd Into Submission) 2:19
  • 4 For Emily, Whenever I May Find Her 2:05
  • 5 A Poem on the Underground Wall 1:52
  • 6 7 O'Clock News / Silent Night; 7 O'Clock News\ Silent Night 2:02
Price: $22.98