The Summer Club: A Novel (Paperback)

Pre-Order Now Badge
The Summer Club: A Novel By Hannah McKinnon Cover Image
$18.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


Hannah McKinnon, the acclaimed author of the “charming and warm-hearted” (PopSugar) The Summer House, returns with a fresh beach read about a group of outsiders threatening the status quo at an exclusive New England beach club.

Mayhaven is the best keep secret in Massachusetts. Tucked between old cedars and a spring-fed lake, the Mayhaven beach club has long been the ultimate escape to understated exclusivity. It’s the place where Darcy Birch is supposed to be experiencing the best summer of her life, but there are a few things standing in her way. Her high-strung mother won’t stop hovering over her, her father is consumed by his job as president of Mayhaven, where she works as a summer camp counselor and things are not as rosy as they seem, and her neurodivergent little brother is struggling to live with a measure of independence not everyone is ready for.

Then there is the matter of the new neighbors. Flick Creevy, his mother, and stepfather have arrived in town, parking their enormous RV, not to mention all-night music and clouds of marijuana, in the Birches’s perfectly landscaped backyard.

Flick is not interested in the perfect summer or the girl next door. Pushed to get a job at Mayhaven by his mother, who had her eyes on a new life for their family, his own eyes have been opened to the ways of the upper crust. Even though Mayhaven prides itself on being an inclusive association of good New England families with good New England values, the fact remains: either you’re on the inside or the outside.

As the heat of summer increases, it’s soon clear that the members of Mayhaven will have to struggle to stay cool in this sharply written and refreshing new novel that is perfect for fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Jennifer Weiner.

About the Author


Hannah McKinnon is the author of several novels, including The Lake SeasonMystic SummerThe Summer HouseSailing LessonsThe View from HereMessage in the Sand, and The Darlings. She graduated from Connecticut College and the University of South Australia. She lives in Connecticut, with her family, a flock of chickens, and two raggedy rescue dogs.

Praise For…


THE SUMMER CLUB is the star of the summer, a quick, enjoyable read about a father and daughter and a posh golf club that we all might want to join, if we didn’t know the truth. I couldn’t put the book down, and the ending had me surprised and moved to tears.”
Nancy Thayer, New York Times Best-selling author of The Summer We Started Over

"Put on your summer whites and tuck Hannah McKinnon's THE SUMMER CLUB into your beach bag. It’s an irresistible journey of friendship, rivalry, love, and self-discovery in one of the freshest, most picturesque settings I’ve read in a long time. As secrets surface and hearts are laid bare, THE SUMMER CLUB reminds us of the transformative power of connection and the joy of embracing life's unexpected twists and turns."
Susan Wiggs, New York Times bestselling author of WELCOME TO BEACH TOWN

“Hannah McKinnon returns with her latest juicy, unputdownable read about an exclusive New England enclave—and a summer that will change everything. With unforgettable characters and pitch-perfect prose, THE SUMMER CLUB cements McKinnon’s auto-buy status on to-be-read lists everywhere. Don’t miss this delectable summer treat that is as enjoyable as, well, a day at the beach!”
Kristy Woodson Harvey, New York Times bestselling author of A HAPPIER LIFE
Product Details
ISBN: 9781668025185
ISBN-10: 1668025183
Publisher: Atria/Emily Bestler Books
Publication Date: July 23rd, 2024
Pages: 336
Language: English