The House Hunt (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
The House Hunt By C.M. Ewan Cover Image
$30.00
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


In this heart-pounding, claustrophobic thriller from the bestselling author of Safe House, financial strains force a couple to sell their beautiful home, but when a potential buyer refuses to leave, everything starts to spiral out of control. Perfect for fans of The Woman at the Window and The Last Thing He Told Me.  
 
For two years Lucy and Sam renovated their beautiful Victorian home but spiraling debts are forcing them to sell. The agreement with their real estate agent is that they won’t be home for viewings, but when Lucy gets a voicemail saying the Agent is running late, she realizes she will have to show the prospective buyer around herself.
 
Suffering from extreme anxiety and claustrophobia, Lucy watches the stranger on their doorstep waiting to be let in; she wants to hide and pretend she’s not home, but then she thinks of Sam working at all hours to cover their bills, of how much they need this sale, and opens the door.
 
Lucy takes a breath and begins to show their house. He is well dressed, polite, and despite her unease everything goes well, until he starts acting strangely. Why is he asking increasingly intrusive questions about her and Sam’s relationship? Why is he trying to take photographs of her? And why does he disappear into the basement and then not answer her when she calls?
 
There is something very wrong with this stranger, and now he is refusing to leave…

About the Author


C.M. Ewan is the critically acclaimed and bestselling author of many mystery and thriller novels, including The Interview and A Window Breaks. As Chris Ewan, he wrote the thriller Safe House, a major bestseller in the UK that was shortlisted for the Theakston’s Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award and authored the popular The Good Thief's Guide to ... series of mystery novels. He lives in Somerset, England, with his wife and two children

Praise For…


"Read this in one unplanned whirlwind binge. The perfect one sitting read. A propulsive, tightly plotted, minimalist treat."—Catherine Steadman, Reese's Book Club Pick and #1 New York Times Bestselling author of Something in the Water

"Tense, taut, and terrifying. The House Hunt takes an everyday, knife-edge dilemma and turns it into the stuff of nightmares. Truly impossible to put down."—Chris Whitaker, New York Times Bestselling Author

"You can almost feel the walls closing in on you as you race through THE HOUSE HUNT! It’s intense and claustrophobic, a darkly creepy thriller that will have you looking over your shoulder long after finishing it."—Gilly Macmillan, New York Times Bestselling Author

"What a cleverly plotted and unputdownable thriller. The House Hunt is tense from the very first page with a gasp-out-loud moment that I never guessed. So pacy and addictive. Just brilliant!"—Claire Douglas, #1 Sunday Times Bestselling Author

"Unbearably tense, effortlessly plotted and packed with twists, Chris Ewan is the master of the cat-and-mouse thriller. . ."—Tim Weaver, Sunday Times Bestselling Author

"With relentless pace, Chris Ewan turns an ordinary, everyday situation into a terrifying nightmare, as the story becomes a desperate one of survival against the odds. Prepare yourself for a sleepless night!"—Jane Shemilt, Internationally Bestselling Author

"Be prepared to put everything else on hold until you've finished The House Hunt, because once it grips you it doesn't let go. C M Ewan is one of the very best thriller writers I know."—Jane Casey, Sunday Times Bestselling Author
Product Details
ISBN: 9781538766255
ISBN-10: 1538766256
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Publication Date: August 27th, 2024
Pages: 432
Language: English