Summer Roommates (A Yorktide, Maine Novel #4) (Paperback)

Summer Roommates (A Yorktide, Maine Novel #4) By Holly Chamberlin Cover Image
$16.95
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of May 29 9:06pm
(FICTION)

Description


Like Elin Hildebrand’s Nantucket novels, Holly Chamberlin’s Maine-set summer reads are perfect for the beach—heartwarming, engaging, and emotionally satisfying. In her latest novel set in the charming town of Yorktide, four older women come together under one roof for an unforgettable summer of self-discovery, renewal, and the healing power of friendship. A delight for fans of Nancy Thayer, Shelley Noble, and Pamela Kelley.

A rambling house on the coast of Maine is the perfect setting for this poignant novel of self-discovery and renewal, as four strangers decide to spend a summer together . . .

Sandra Pennington has lived through enough Maine winters to know how long they can be. Even in April, Yorktide is chilly and muddy, adding to Sandra’s pangs of loneliness. It’s been five years since her husband died, her dearest friend is in a care facility, her children are grown, and the big house is suddenly terribly empty. But Sandra has a plan: to rent out three bedrooms and set up a summer bed and breakfast of sorts.

There will be challenges, of course, and Sandra’s daughter is concerned. But Sandra is eager to try and build a community of like-minded, mature women for companionship and support. Soon, one by one, her chosen housemates arrive . . .

Mary, recently retired, is ready to discard her tough lawyer façade. Patty refuses to reveal—or act—her age, but beneath her flightiness lies a deep vulnerability. High-school teacher Amanda feels uncertain about where her long-term relationship is going. But surely it’s too late now to change course?

Over arguments and laughter, these very different women get to know each other—and themselves. And while summer is always too short, there’ll be time enough for reinvention, reflection—and realizing it’s never too late to keep growing, changing—and making new friends . . .

About the Author


Holly Chamberlin is the bestselling author of more than a dozen novels. Born and raised in New York City, she earned a Master's degree in English Literature from New York University and worked as an editor in the publishing industry for ten years. She and her husband now live in Maine in a restored mid-nineteenth-century brick townhouse with Betty, the most athletic, beautiful and intelligent cat in the world. Readers can visit her online at HollyChamberlin.com.

Praise For…


Praise for Holly Chamberlin’s Novels
 
“Chamberlin is the best-selling author of heartwarming fiction about women’s lives and relationships. Her followers are plentiful, and there is sure to be much clamor for this latest beach read. Recommend it to fans of Claire Cook and Elin Hilderbrand.”Booklist on Home for the Summer
 
“Escape to picturesque Maine with Holly Chamberlin’s breathtaking new women’s fiction novel…A story of friendship and fidelity, can Beth get through the tension, keep her friends close and marry the love of her life?” —SheReads on A Wedding on the Beach
 
“Novels centered around family dynamics can be some of the most interesting…Taking place in Maine, this story explores three generations of women in one family, as they ride the waves of bittersweet memories, bonds, and moving on, all while banding together.” Martha Stewart Weddings (6 Novels for Your Honeymoon) on Home for the Summer
 
“Chamberlin is pitch perfect in her depiction of Rosie and Meg struggling to grow up, love, and forgive themselves and each other. A thoughtful social commentary and tender narration of friendship and loyalty.” Publishers Weekly on Last Summer
 
“Nostalgia over real life friendships lost and regained pulls readers into the story.” USA Today on Summer Friends
 
“Chamberlin takes on the psychological repercussions of familial relationships to weave a satisfying and multifaceted story that keeps readers guessing. For fans of similar works by authors such as Shelley Noble and Nancy Thayer.” Library Journal on The Summer Nanny
Product Details
ISBN: 9781496713636
ISBN-10: 149671363X
Publisher: Kensington
Publication Date: June 27th, 2023
Pages: 448
Language: English
Series: A Yorktide, Maine Novel