The Engineer's Wife (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
The Engineer's Wife Cover Image
$26.99
On Our Shelves Now
2 on hand, as of Aug 9 10:01am

Staff Reviews


In "The Engineer's Wife", we are introduced to Emily Warren Roebling, a woman ahead of her time who became the true crusader behind one of the world's most recognized landmarks, The Brooklyn Bridge. When her husband, Washington Roebling, takes over as chief engineer after his father's untimely death, Emily decides to study her husband's engineering books. After her husband is diagnosed with Caisson's Disease ( aka Decompression sickness), Emily using her self taught knowledge steps in to help complete the project. I was fascinated with not only Emily's story (which I had never heard of), but also of the herculean effort it took by so many to construct this engineering marvel. Tracey Enerson Wood brings to life the courage and fortitude of this amazing woman during a time of when women's minds and talents were so quickly dismissed. Like many of the best historical fiction books I love, this one has motivated me to read and learn more about Emily Roebling and the bridge she loved.

— Lisa

Description


INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER

"Historical fiction at its finest."--Andrea Bobotis, author of The Last List of Miss Judith Kratt

She built a monument for all time. Then she was lost in its shadow. Discover the fascinating woman who helped design and construct the Brooklyn Bridge. Perfect for fans of The Other Einstein.

Emily Roebling refuses to live conventionally--she knows who she is and what she wants, and she's determined to make change. But then her husband asks the unthinkable: give up her dreams to make his possible.

Emily's fight for women's suffrage is put on hold, and her life transformed when her husband Washington Roebling, the Chief Engineer of the Brooklyn Bridge, is injured on the job. Untrained for the task, but under his guidance, she assumes his role, despite stern resistance and overwhelming obstacles. But as the project takes shape under Emily's direction, she wonders whose legacy she is building--hers, or her husband's. As the monument rises, Emily's marriage, principles, and identity threaten to collapse. When the bridge finally stands finished, will she recognize the woman who built it?

Based on the true story of an American icon, The Engineer's Wife delivers an emotional portrait of a woman transformed by a project of unfathomable scale, which takes her into the bowels of the East River, suffragette riots, the halls of Manhattan's elite, and the heady, freewheeling temptations of P.T. Barnum. The biography of a husband and wife determined to build something that lasts--even at the risk of losing each other.

Other Bestselling Historical Fiction from Sourcebooks Landmark:
The Only Woman in the Room by Marie Benedict
Carnegie's Maid by Marie Benedict
The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek by Kim Michele Richardson
Sold on a Monday by Kristina McMorris

Product Details
ISBN: 9781492698135
ISBN-10: 149269813X
Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark
Publication Date: April 7th, 2020
Pages: 352
Language: English