Game Changer Cover Image
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now
3 on hand, as of Sep 21 10:15am

About the Author


Tommy Greenwald is the author of many books for children, including the Crimebiters! and Charlie Joe Jackson series. Greenwald is also the cofounder of SpotCo Advertising and the lyricist and co-writer (with Andrew Lippa) of John & Jen, an off-Broadway musical and book. To read more about Greenwald, visit tommygreenwald.com.

Praise For…


"This nontraditional narrative, using conversations, interview transcripts, text messages, hospital reports, and other documents, skillfully peels back the elements of the mystery. The issues of football's violence are presented, but the book's real strength is the depiction of the culture behind it....The story will resonate with those on both sides of the debate about the role of youth football in society, and the unusual storytelling technique sets it apart from most sport fiction."

— Kirkus Reviews

"Hand this to your reluctant readers who love football; the format makes this an incredibly easy story to navigate and will not intimidate struggling readers."

— School Library Connection

"A must-buy for libraries looking for innovative narratives for sports fans. Readers who enjoy Tim Green, Mike Lupica, and Kwame Alexander will want to pick this up."

— School Library Journal

"Greenwald’s novel entertains while exposing readers to the potential risks and consequences inherent in the sport of football . . . an interesting, innovative read."

— Booklist

"An ideal discussion starter for middle-school readers ready to debate whether football’s—or any sport’s—violence is reason to pull the plug."

— The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"A must-read for any parent, coach, or young football player."

— Midwest Book Review
Product Details
ISBN: 9781419731433
ISBN-10: 1419731432
Publisher: Harry N. Abrams
Publication Date: September 11th, 2018
Pages: 304
Language: English

Game Changer (Hardcover)