Shiny Misfits: A Graphic Novel (Paperback)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Shiny Misfits: A Graphic Novel By Maysoon Zayid, Shadia Amin (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Maysoon Zayid, Shadia Amin (Illustrator)
$14.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


Bay Ann doesn't think she's a star--she knows it! Now how does she prove it to the rest of the world? This is a hilarious graphic novel about friendship, fame, and fighting for control of your own story, perfect for fans of Nat Enough, Click, and Invisible.

Bay Ann wants to shine. No matter what.

She's sure her moment in the spotlight has arrived when she wins the school talent show with a showstopping tap routine! But then her classmate and crush, Alyee Maq, causes her to wobble and almost fall. The video of him catching her goes viral, making Alyee an overnight sensation for "helping her." Bay Ann is reduced to her disability and her talent is ignored.

Bay Ann doesn't want her classmate to get all the fame, and she is NOT satisfied being anything but the best. She'll do everything in her power to beat Alyee at his own attention-seeking game. With the help of her two best friends, Michelle and Davey Matt, she'll go up against Alyee and his crew to prove she's number one.

But as Bay Ann tries to find the thing that really makes her stand out, everything she tries goes disastrously wrong. What if the only way to beat her enemy . . . is to join him?

About the Author


Maysoon Zayid is a comedian, actress, writer, and disability advocate. She is a graduate of Arizona State University and a Princeton Fellow. Maysoon is the co-founder/co-executive producer of the New York Arab American Comedy Festival and The Muslim Funny Fest. As a professional comedian, Maysoon has sold out top New York clubs and has toured extensively at home and abroad. She was a headliner on the Arabs Gone Wild Comedy Tour and The Together Live Tour. Maysoon has also appeared alongside Adam Sandler in You Don’t Mess With the Zohan and has written for Glamour magazine. And she is the author of the best-selling memoir Find Another Dream. To learn more visit http://www.Maysoon.com


Shadia Amin is a Colombian cartoonist and illustrator based in Savannah, Georgia. She graduated from Savannah College of Art and Design (SCAD) with a bachelor's degree in sequential art, minoring in illustration. She later earned her master's degree in sequential art, also from SCAD. Her art aims to capture the fun of superheroes, fantasy, and life itself, and her works include Shiny Misfits, Spider-Ham, Aggretsuko, and Olive & Popeye. She has also contributed to anthologies like Alloy: Electrum and Votes for Women: The Battle for the 19th Amendment. Shadia is also a teacher, and when she is not working, she can be found cooking, playing video games, or spending time with her husband, dog, and cat. Find her online at shadiaminart.com.

Praise For…


Praise for Shiny Misfits:

★ "Comical, nuanced, and visually engaging." -- Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"You ain't never seen anything like it before. Bound to win over fans and a hell of a lotta hearts as well, this is one cool book. Like it or not, Bay Ann is here to stay." -- Fuse #8, A School Library Journal Blog

Product Details
ISBN: 9781338752502
ISBN-10: 1338752502
Publisher: Graphix
Publication Date: April 16th, 2024
Pages: 256
Language: English