Summer Vamp: (A Graphic Novel) (Paperback)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Summer Vamp: (A Graphic Novel) By Violet Chan Karim Cover Image
$13.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


What happens when a very human kid ends up at the wrong summer camp—FOR VAMPIRES?! This quirky and heart warming graphic novel about making friends and getting in trouble is perfect for fans of Witches of Brooklyn.

After a lackluster school year, Maya anticipates an even more disappointing summer. The only thing she’s looking forward to is cooking and mixing ingredients in the kitchen, which these days brings her more joy than mingling with her peers . . . that is until her dad's girlfriend registers her for culinary summer camp! Maya's summer is saved! . . . or not. 

What was meant to be a summer filled with baking pastries and cooking pasta is suddenly looking a lot . . . paler?! Why do all of the kids have pointy fangs? And hate garlic? Turns out that Maya isn't at culinary camp—she's at a camp for VAMPIRES! Maya has a lot to learn if she's going to survive this summer . . . and if she's lucky, she might even make some friends along the way.

About the Author


Violet Chan Karim is a comic artist and writer from Boston, Massachusetts. Her love for cartoons, books, and movies as a child led to her pursuing a career in writing and illustration as an adult. She graduated with a BFA in Sequential Art from Savannah College of Art and Design in 2020. Violet’s debut graphic novel, Summer Vamp, will be published in 2024 with Random House Graphic. She also creates the webcomic, Death of a Pop Star, with Webtoon.

Praise For…


"This well-executed graphic novel explores the valuable theme of finding people who will welcome, support, and stand up for us despite our differences....Delightful." —Kirkus Reviews

"Seamlessly blending silliness and sentiment, Karim employs confident comic timing and tonal savvy, and clean-lined cartooning marks an enjoyable new talent for middle grade audiences." —Publishers Weekly
Product Details
ISBN: 9780593425220
ISBN-10: 0593425227
Publisher: Random House Graphic
Publication Date: May 14th, 2024
Pages: 240
Language: English