This Is Why We Lied: A Will Trent Thriller (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
This Is Why We Lied: A Will Trent Thriller By Karin Slaughter Cover Image
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Other Books in Series

This is book number 12 in the Will Trent series.



“Expect from a Karin Slaughter crime thriller . . . just the right amount of twists, turns, shocks, surprises and domestic thrill and shrill.” — Parade

The next thrilling suspense featuring Will Trent and Sara Linton from Karin Slaughter, New York Times bestselling author of Pretty Girls and After That Night

One toxic family.

Eight suspicious guests.

Everyone is guilty.

But who is a killer?

For GBI investigator Will Trent and medical examiner Sara Linton, McAlpine Lodge seems like the ideal getaway to celebrate their honeymoon. Set on a gorgeous, off-the-grid mountaintop property, it’s the perfect place to unplug and reconnect. Until a bone-chilling scream cuts through the night.

 A murderer in their midst

Mercy McAlpine, the manager of the Lodge, is dead. With a vicious storm raging and the one access road to the property washed out, the murderer must be someone on the mountain. But as Will and Sara investigate the McAlpine family and the other guests, they realize that everyone here is lying….Lying about their past. Lying to their family. Lying to themselves.

 Who killed Mercy McAlpine?

It soon becomes clear that normal rules don’t apply at McAlpine Lodge, and Will and Sara are going to have to watch their step at every turn. Trapped on the resort, they must untangle a decades-old web of secrets to discover what happened to Mercy. And with the killer poised to strike again, the trip of a lifetime becomes a race against the clock…

About the Author

Karin Slaughter is one of the world’s most popular storytellers. She is the author of more than twenty instant New York Times bestselling novels, including the Edgar-nominated Cop Town and standalone novels The Good Daughter and Pretty Girls. An international bestseller, Slaughter is published in 120 countries with more than 40 million copies sold across the globe. Pieces of Her is a #1 Netflix original series, Will Trent is a television series starring Ramón Rodríguez on ABC, and further projects are in development for television. Karin Slaughter is the founder of the Save the Libraries project—a nonprofit organization established to support libraries and library programming. A native of Georgia, she lives in Atlanta.

Praise For…

“Expect from a Karin Slaughter crime thriller . . . just the right amount of twists, turns, shocks, surprises and domestic thrill and shrill.”  — Parade on This Is Why We Lied

“A honeymoon turns into a grisly locked-room mystery in Slaughter’s harrowing 12th outing for Georgia Bureau of Investigation agent Will Trent…Slaughter saves the day with her gifts for suspense and characterization…This long-running series still has gas in the tank.” — Publishers Weekly on This Is Why We Lied

“Grueling, pitiless, yet compassionate…. It’s a signal achievement of Slaughter that the climactic revelations add still another layer of horror to her tale.”  — Kirkus Reviews (starred review) on After That Night

“Slaughter’s fans will be avid for the latest in this bestselling series, while its costar, state investigator Will Trent, has inspired a show on ABC, further expanding Slaughter’s already vast audience.” — Booklist (starred review) on After That Night

“Never less than nail-biting…. The final twist—a touch of ironic genius—will make your jaw drop.”  — London Times (UK) on After That Night

“Karin Slaughter raises her game with every book. After That Night is compulsive reading.” — Clare Mackintosh, author of I Let You Go

“Karin Slaughter always keeps me hooked and Girl, Forgotten is no exception. Totally worthy of a no interruptions, read-all-day bingeathon.” — Lisa Gardner, #1 New York Times bestselling author

“[Slaughter] brings her trademark intensity to every relationship she lays bare. Like touching a live wire that continues across three generations.” — Kirkus Reviews on Girl, Forgotten

“Layer upon layer of mystery, a great cast of characters, and some genuinely startling twists. This is Slaughter at her best.” — Booklist (starred review) on Girl, Forgotten

“Slaughter skillfully leads readers on a thrilling journey into the past to solve the murder that a small town wants to forget, yet is still haunted by.”  — Library Journal (starred review) on Girl, Forgotten

“Gripping.... Slaughter reliably entertains.” — Publishers Weekly on Girl, Forgotten

“Cunningly conceived and written . . . Deeply satisfying.” — Washington Post on False Witness

“While fans wait for the show to start again, they can dive into this intense, disturbing, and fascinating story of depravity, betrayal, and hope. The surprise ending shocks and satisfies, and the next Will Trent novel cannot come fast enough.” — First Clue on This Is Why We Lied

“This bar-raiser for the classic locked-room mystery is in good company with Sarah Pearse’s The Sanitorium (2021), Adrian McKinty’s The Island (2022), and One by One, by Ruth Ware (2020).” Booklist (starred review) on This Is Why We Lied

“Intense, gripping, gutsy, multilayered and highly emotional, THIS IS WHY WE LIED is Karin Slaughter at her best. Highly recommended to fans of the series and all readers who enjoy a fast-paced, dark suspense thriller.” — Mystery & Suspense Magazine

Product Details
ISBN: 9780063336728
ISBN-10: 0063336723
Publisher: William Morrow
Publication Date: August 20th, 2024
Pages: 464
Language: English
Series: Will Trent