Turtle Walk (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Turtle Walk Cover Image
By Matt Phelan, Matt Phelan (Illustrator)
$17.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


Turtle walk. Nice and slow. Here we go!

Explore all four seasons with this charming—and patient!—turtle family. Award-winning author-artist Matt Phelan guides the youngest readers from the first blooms of spring and the scorching sun of summer to the crisp leaves of fall and fat snowflakes of winter. Fans of Anna Dewdney and Tad Hills will want to go on this journey again and again.

Spring blooms, and a turtle family is on the move. Slow and steady, they travel up, up, up, the gentle hill through all four seasons. Where are they going? To the top of the sledding hill, of course! But how will they get back down the hill to a well-deserved winter’s rest?

Matt Phelan’s simple, rhythmic text is filled with repetition that shines in read-alouds, and his soft, colorful watercolor artwork bring the seasons to vivid life. The joyful journey and gentle, rewarding surprise make Turtle Walk a timeless choice for every home and classroom.


About the Author


Matt Phelan is the author and artist of the picture books Pignic and Druthers, as well as the acclaimed middle grade novel Knights vs. Dinosaurs and its two sequels, Knights vs. Monsters and Knights vs. the End (of Everything ). He has also written and illustrated several award-winning and best-selling middle grade graphic novels: Snow White, The Storm in the Barn, Bluffton, and Around the World. Matt Phelan lives with his family in Pennsylvania.



Matt Phelan is the author and artist of the picture books Pignic and Druthers, as well as the acclaimed middle grade novel Knights vs. Dinosaurs and its two sequels, Knights vs. Monsters and Knights vs. the End (of Everything ). He has also written and illustrated several award-winning and best-selling middle grade graphic novels: Snow White, The Storm in the Barn, Bluffton, and Around the World. Matt Phelan lives with his family in Pennsylvania.

Praise For…


“Turtle kids experience extremely delayed gratification when their parents announce a local adventure in this winning picture book. . . . Phelan . . . makes the trip more than worthwhile . . . with luscious scenes of flowers and showers, a busy playground and brilliant firefly display, and a ripe orchard and a glowing pumpkin field. . . . It’s every memorable family trip in a nutshell, filled with moments of tedium, thrills, and, best of all, togetherness.”
Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“A family of turtles slowly wends its way through various landscapes in this gentle rhyming walk through the seasons. . . .  Phelan manages both simplicity and lushness in the loose, charcoal-smudged watercolor art . . . while compositions make clear the breadth of the larger world . . . . This is an easy pick for a seasonal storytime, or as a primer for a family road trip and a reminder that the journey can be more entertaining than the destination."
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books (starred review)

“A family of turtles celebrates four seasons with a long walk around its small world. . . . Simple, rhyming text . . . accompanies the little group of four on its journey . . . Phelan’s artwork is lively and visually bright, with rich colors and impressionistic lines . . . Playful and lighthearted.”
Kirkus Reviews
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062934130
ISBN-10: 0062934139
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Publication Date: October 6th, 2020
Pages: 32
Language: English